Going Home with Tacloban-Bato-Ubay-Tubigon-Cebu routes

After the success of PSSS Anniversary Shipspotting Tour 2016(see sir Mike articles), We arrived safely at Tacloban Bus Terminal past 12:00am of December 13(It was PSSS Anniversary Day). Thanks to sir Joe driving skills. While waiting for the bus trip, We were having some sort of discussions in relation to ships and buses and of course suggestion as to where I should passed by to go back to Cebu. Originally, I wanted to take Filipinas Cebu in Palompon and since James told me that Filipinas Cebu was drydock so other option was to take SuperJoy or Oroquieta Stars of Roble for its 9am and 10am trip in Hilongos but James suggested that I should passed by in Bohol since it has been a long time to have a coverage on that area. It was a better suggestion so I decided to take the Bato-Ubay route instead of direct Hilongos-Cebu. At around 3:00am, we split together towards our destination. Sir Mike and sir Joe went to Surigao, James to Isabel and Me to Bato, Leyte. I rode a local bus bound for Maasin departs at 4:00am. It was only few passengers onboard inside the bus from Tacloban Bus Terminal but as we go along the trip, almost got full of passengers. It was a nice trip and it was very cold as we passed by in the mountain.

At around 8:00am, I arrived safely in Bato, Leyte and took a shower at the Bath Station. It was well clean and organized. Then had a breakfast before my trip to Ubay, Bohol. I rode a sikad bound for Bato Port(It is very near from the market but I feel tired) and to my suprise, sikad operators can transport you directly to the ship or banca. But before I entered to Bato Port, I am supposed to booked a ticket of Medallion bound for Ubay for a 10:00am trip suddenly the ticketing officer told me that the trip got delayed as they have to wait the Manila buses so instead I tried to take the Motor Banca for the 9:30am trip. The regular fare is P260.00 and the student fare is P250 including P5.00 terminal fee although I didn’t see a port terminal in Bato perhaps that is for the entrance fee. I grabbed the student fare without showing the school ID’s at least I saved P10.00. And a bit cheaper than Medallion fare which is around P290.00-P300.00 per pax.

So finally I aboard a motor banca bound for Ubay, Bohol. A plenty of passengers onboard that is why I am seated near the engine area which is very inconvenient due to loud noise while cruising. It was a sunny weather and the sea is calm. At exactly 9:30am, we leaved Bato Port and I took some good shots. The motor bancas typically runs at 8-10 kts enough to sail on this short route. It was a smooth trip and I recommend for those who want to try motor bancas. So much options to ply in Leyte-Bohol routes. There are motor bancas plying from Hilongos-Ubay and Maasin-Ubay.

I arrived Ubay at 12:00pm ended my 2 hours and 30 minutes trip. Ubay Port is a mid-size port though only few ROROs are plying in this port. What is more traffic are the motor bancas plying to several islands and private resort islands. After disembarked, I walked going to Ubay Public Market just a few meters away from the port. I stayed in Ubay for 2 hours and rode a regular jeep bound for Talibon since there was no direct trip to Tubigon. The regular fare from Ubay-Talibon is P35.00. In Talibon, I immediately rode a V-Hire(GT Express) bound for Tubigon and Tagbilaran. I have no time to go to Talibon Port since I need to catch up the 6:00pm
trip of Star Crafts bound for Cebu.

I arrived in Tubigon with strong rain. Bingo! I brought my umbrella so better to bring it in case of weather disturbances. So I went to ticketing office to book my 6:25pm trip of Star Crafts bound for Cebu. Illegal exaction still there you have to pay P5.00 before going to the port. Bought some delicacies(common pasalubong is Calamay) and ate my dinner before boarding. While waiting for the boarding time, I took the shot of Lite Ferry 23 and Star Crafts 9(finally my wish list FC to ride for). I boarded Star Crafts 9 at 6:00pm and departed on time. She was still fast at 1 hour trip duration. Finally, I arrived in Cebu safe and sound at night time.

